Tuesday, 24 September 2013

Gluten Free Wasabi Peas

wasabi peas

Brief post.

Over the past few years whenever I've seen a pack of Wasabi Peas I've picked it up studied the ingredients and always found gluten to be present. I missed them, I love the combination of the hot flavour and crunchy texture. 

A month or so ago I had a craving for dried Apricots, so I found myself looking at the Wholefoods section in my regular Tesco. I was surprised to see Wasabi Peas there but I didn't think they would be suitable after so many different packs had disappointed me in the past.

Lo and behold, no gluten on the allergen list.

wasabi peas ingredients
So if you're craving gluten free Wasabi Peas and are in the UK you will find them in Tesco's Wholefoods section with the dried Fruits and unsalted Nuts. 

Informative me.


  1. Maltodextrin, especially in Europe, is often made of wheat and very gluten-y! Be careful!

  2. "Maltodextrin is gluten-free. It can be made from a variety of cereal starches including wheat, corn (maize), tapioca and rice. Despite the name, maltodextrins are not produced from, nor do they contain barley malt. Even when maltodextrin has been made from wheat, the grain is processed to remove the gluten."


    All good.


Blog Widget by LinkWithin